Our History

The Mindoro State University (MinSU), formerly the Mindoro State College of Agriculture and Technology (MinSCAT) was originally the Mindoro National Agricultural School (MINAS) created by virtue of R.A. 506 sponsored by then Oriental Mindoro Congressman Raul T. Leuterio. It formally opened its door for learning on August 26, 1951 with the 26 pioneering students.

In 1963, by virtue of R.A. 3758, the Collegiate Department was opened. This steered the offering of several collegiate courses. The first two (2) years leading to the degree of Bachelor of Science in Agriculture (BSA) was initially offered. This was followed by the two-year course leading to Associate in Agricultural Technology (AAT) in 1973; then the complete course offerings of Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Education (BSAE) in 1975; and Bachelor of Science in Agriculture (BSA) in 1977. In 1980 the new BSA curriculum was adopted which was developed by the Technical Panel for Agricultural Education based at UP Los Baños.


The expanded collegiate course offerings made MINAS a full-fledged College, named Mindoro College of Agriculture and Technology (MCAT) on July 10, 1976. The trend continued when MCAT was converted into Mindoro State College of Agriculture and Technology (MinSCAT) under R.A. 8007 on May 25, 1995 through House Bill No. 2354 entitled “An Act Converting MCAT into a State College” which was filed by then Congressman Renato V. Leviste and was endorsed to the Senate under Senate Bill 1674 sponsored by Senator Raul S. Roco. On December 7, 1994 Senate Committee on Education, Culture and Arts chaired by Senator Leticia R. Shahani submitted the proposal to President Fidel V. Ramos for approval, declaring MinSCAT as the first and only state college in Oriental Mindoro.

February 7, 2001 marked another milestone in the history of MinSU with the integration of the two (2) CHED supervised institutions in the province, namely: the Bongabong College of Fisheries now MinSU-Bongabong Campus and the Polytechnic College of Calapan now MinSU-Calapan City Campus.

The MinSU-Bongabong Campus originally the Bongabong School of Fisheries (BSF) was established on September 21, 1964 by virtue of Republic Act No. 3306. In 1975, the government approved the offering of the Revised Fishery Technical Education Curriculum. It was converted into a full-fledged college, Bongabong College of Fisheries (BCF) on July 5, 1995 by virtue of R. A. 8143.

The MinSU-Calapan City Campus, on the other hand, was established as a government secondary trade school known as Calapan School of Arts and Trades (CSAT) by virtue of R.A. 3397 in June 1961. In 1972, CSAT merited the Ministry of Education, Culture and Sports (MECS) approval to offer Trade Technical Education Curriculum. Efforts to convert the institution into a College authorized to offer degree courses were realized with the approval of R.A. 8076 in June 19, 1995 converting CSAT to Polytechnic College of Calapan (PCC). With the integration, the PCC evolved into MinSCAT, now MinSU – Calapan City Campus. The MinSU, with three campuses within the two congressional districts in Oriental Mindoro was recognized as the only public institution of higher learning in the Province of Oriental Mindoro.

In pursuit of innovative and transformative education and quality services to the clientele, MinSCAT envisioned to become a University. By virtue of RA 10596 as amended by RA 11006, the Mindoro State College of Agriculture and Technology (MinSCAT) was converted into Mindoro State University on June 4, 2013 with provisions for compliance before the grant as full-fledged university through House Bill No. 4448 entitled with Congress authors/co-author Franklin M. Drilon and Rodolfo G. Valencia, respectively and sponsor Edgardo J. Angara respectively. RA 11006 which amended RA 10596 was sponsored by Paulino Salvador C. Leachon.

On March 16, 2021, the long-sought dream to become a full-fledged university was realized after the certification by the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) of full compliance to the operational requirements and validated by the Office of Institutional Quality Assurance and Governance (OIQAG) by virtue of the Resolution No. 110-2021 by the Commission en banc dated March 16, 2021 and Resolution No. 01, series of 2021 of the Mindoro State University Board of Regents. The Mindoro State University (MinSU) is the first ever University in the province of Oriental Mindoro and the youngest in the MIMAROPA Region.

The leadership of MinSU has progressed from its first superintendent, Mr. Eligio C. Ureta (1951-1962); Mr. Onofre F. Martin (1962-1963); Mr. Crispin E. Cabanilla (1963-1965); Mr. Antonio U. Ganir (1965-1979); Mr. Camilo Silvestre (1979-1990); Mr. Manolito V. Icalla as Principal-OIC (1990-1991); Mr. Jeremias A. Ortiz as Administrator-OIC (1991-1994); and Dr. Angelito A. Bacudo as Principal-OIC (1994-1996).

On July 8, 1996, Dr. Angelito A. Bacudo was installed as the first President of MinSCAT until his untimely demise in February 2007. Dr. Levy B. Arago, Jr., the Vice President for Academic Affairs during the time was designated as the Officer-In-Charge to the Office of the President from February 2007 to June 2007. Dr. Bacudo’s untimely demise called for the search for new College President which favored Dr. Jesse T. Zamora who was appointed by the Board of Trustees on August 2, 2007 as the second President of MinSCAT. Dr. Zamora took his leadership until July 9, 2018.

On July 10, 2018, Dr. Levy B. Arago, Jr. was appointed by the Board of Trustees as the third and last President of MinSCAT which term ended on August 26, 2021.

On August 27, 2021, the historical inauguration of the University was held vis-à-vis the oath taking with the CHED Chairperson Professor Prospero E. De Vera III and investiture ceremonies of the First University President DR. LEVY B. ARAGO, JR. which appointment commenced from August 27, 2021 to August 27, 2025.

Following the mandatory retirement of Dr. Arago, Jr. on November 05, 2023, the MinSU Governing Board designated Dr. Christian Anthony C. Agutaya, its concurrent Vice President for Research, Development and Extension, as the Officer-In-Charge to the Office of the University President. To this date, Dr. Agutaya remains to be the OIC-President while the University pursues its search for a new president.

MinSU has offered wide array of opportunities for further growth of the whole MinSU Family and the Mindoreños having the first ever university in the province. It has been for the whole academic community to realize waiting for this long sought dream. The University is envisioned to be the first-choice, premier and global institution of higher learning in the province. It is focused to the attainment of strategic priorities in academic, governance, research, extension and development to continuously address the dynamic needs of its growing population.


302 Staff


10531 Students


9 Colleges


3 Years